SPRING 2017

So, Spring is here – my first whilst actively curating a blog of any sort. Lots has happened:

  • I’ve done a few gigs with the ceilidh band and we’ve hired out a hall for tomorrow to do a “technical rehearsal” where we sort out any gremlins in our set-up.
  • Collaboration with the lovely Adelia is on-going – see her witty video “Rapunzel” here. We may do some busking and some little gigs in the near future – who knows?
  • Great Yarmouth College are making a documentary about busking to which I’ve contributed. (Link when they’re done).

But the real reason I wanted to write this post is because of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zn_NpnYo3aw

If you know me, you know I fucking love Netta-era Turisas. I came across this song today after years of not hearing it and it took me right back to why I wanted to play folk metal in the first place: it’s bloody good fun.

True, I’m not rushing straight back onto the scene – I’m still on hiatus while I study the fine art of improvising on the violin, amongst other things, but it’s always good to be reminded once in a while of where your musical allegiance truly lies. raises sword downs pint

turisas02.jpg
Turisas’ Terrorizer Magazine covershoot. Photographer: Jarmo Katila

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

